Meme

Last week I was tagged by The Adventures of Kate and Carson, and it’s taken me this long to pass it on.

The rules are:

1. Link to the person who tagged you.
2. Post the rules here
3. Share 7 random or weird facts about yourself
4. Tag 7 random people at the end of the post, linking to them.
5. Leave a comment on their blog so that they know they’ve been tagged.

– I don’t like Neil Young. I try, but I can’t. I’ve had this talk with a few people recently, so it’s fresh on my mind as a weird thing about me. Maybe it’s not so weird. Does anyone else out there not like him? (Of course, I mean his singing. He himself might be a great person, but I’ll never know.)

– Even though I grew up in the country, I can’t stand most bugs. The only bug I love is a pillbug, or a rolypoly, or whatever you may call it.

– I was bitten by a dog when I was young, and to this day I still have a fear of even playful animal biting.

– I’m currently trying to figure out which Astros tattoo I want. It will be a present to myself after I get married. I’ve been thinking about getting a tattoo for a while, but just couldn’t figure out what I’d want on my body for the rest of my life. Even if I stop following the Astros, I’ll always have the truly cherished memories of going to the Astrodome every summer when I was young.

– I used to be very picky about the source of the water I’d drink, but now I’ll take tap water without a second thought.

– Sometimes I wonder if I have a problem with depression because I surround myself with the color blue. (I’m only half-joking)

– I have a constant struggle with always wanting to get away, to travel, but at the same time wanting to go home to my own couch and not move for hours.

I’ll tag Pieces, A Mighty Good Yarn, This is who I am, Saxophonin’ Gnome, No Narcissus, Ms. Judy’s House of Fun, and Imaginekb.

2 Responses

  1. I feel the need to disseminate this horrible abuse of the word meme, and what I posted at Hallqs page sufficiently gets across my point, so I’ll paste:
    Sorry, but you are entirely misdirected about what a ‘meme’ is. A survey or chain letter or pass-me-on or whatever this is has no relation to the word. In order to not look silly or foolish, you should research terms before using them. You can’t make something a meme just by declaring it so, and if this was one, it would be instantly recognized and occur regularly in the social consciousness in various forms. All your base are belong to us and LOLcats are memes, ‘list 7 weird things about yourself’ is a survey at best, and a piece of unsolicited spam chainmail at worst. Also, a meme can’t be ‘invented,’ a meme just happens.

  2. Locke – I understand when something bothers you SO much that you feel the need to tell random strangers about it. But honestly, I could care less what you think of me and what I post on my website, and I think it’s a little funny that you took the time out of your day to tell me what an idiot I am.

Leave a Reply

