Music!

While others are listening to holiday music, I’m listening to dance music.

KEXP seems to be into the dance music today (not house music, but music that really makes you want to shake your booty), and I have no complaints. Are you tired of hearing cheery Christmas music and want to tap your foot while wrapping the last few presents? You should try these websites/bands on for size.

Beats Broke is a brand new hip hop label that belongs to a boyfriend of a friend. I’ve gotta say, I don’t like the hip hop as much as the next kid, but I do dig the music offered up on this site. I’m a fan of Pax & Pry, and Arts the Beatdoctor lives up to the great name. Sure, I’d tell you to go to this site even if I didn’t like it, since it belongs to a genuinely nice person who deserves some web visits to his label. But I do recommend listening to the music if you think you could possibly need a little hip hop in your life.

Muscles is actually a band recommended by Dooce a little while ago, so if you read her site you’ve maybe already had a taste of them. I really dig their music and don’t take them very seriously, which I think is the point. Just shake your booty already! (Have I really said the word “booty” twice in this post?)

Black Kids is a band I’ve mentioned before, but I really can’t get enough of them. Their songs make me smile every time I hear them, especially “I’m not gonna teach him…”

Granted, this type of music isn’t for everyone, and that’s cool. I just like the happy feeling I get when music makes me want to dance in my chair at work, so I wanted to share it with the 2 or 3 readers who are still around. If you do end up dancing, let me know!

2 Responses

  1. […] Original post by ihearttheastros […]

  2. (1) You have great taste, (2) glad you like Beats Broke, and (3) I usually read your blog through Bloglines, so I only just saw your new layout — with ALL THOSE TURTLES! Soooo cute!!!!!

Leave a Reply

