Last minute post

Through their incredible insensitivity for their neighbors, the kids downstairs have reminded me that I haven’t post yet today, and it’s 11:48 PM. This hasn’t happened in a while, the kids downstairs being this ridiculous. They love their video games, and even invite their other kid friends over to play them late at night during the week. They obviously have a surround sound system down there in the bedroom under mine, and they love to turn that damn sound up when they get to playing.

About two months ago I knocked on their door at midnight to ask them to turn it down, and the boy that opened the door (not kidding, he can’t be more than 20 or 21) denied hearing anything of the sort. Amazingly though, when I got back upstairs the sound was gone and I didn’t hear it for about a month. Then I’d hear them play their games early at night, but by 10 they had turned things off or at least down. Now, though, they’ve grown back their balls or something, because they’re playing their obnoxious video games at almost midnight on a MONDAY NIGHT.

Since I’ve already gone down there and talked to them, I don’t think it’s rude of me to go ahead and call the cops if this continues late into the night. Yeah, it’s a little extreme, but I’m getting cranky in my old age and I’ve got to go to work tomorrow, unlike these jerks downstairs. (I can’t believe how incredibly tired I am of college kids.)

Do you have any stupid neighbors like this?

5 Responses

  1. My last upstairs neighbor occasionally had screaming fits. Once it even involved throwing (and breaking) dishes, which was sort of funny, except for the 3 a.m. factor. “F*** you! And f*** her, too!” What was bizarre was that she looked like a homebody and when you saw her in person it was like she had trouble focusing her eyes on you, and she was slightly pigeon-toed.

    Don’t feel bad calling apartment security or whatever. It’s part of apartment living that you’re not allowed to be a complete idiot, at least not after 11 p.m.

  2. It’s perfectly fine to call the cops on them at this point. It’s also fine to complain to your management office and request a noise violation.

    I don’t have neighbors like this now, but I have in the past and they suck.

  3. Elizabeth and Rebecca – Thanks for making me feel less like a cranky old woman. I’m glad to know that others would call and complain if in the same situation.

  4. Do you mean…like…neighbors who sit RIGHT OUTSIDE YOUR DOOR until the wee hours of the morning, drinking and laughing boisterously and smoking? And then the smoke eventually seeps under your poorly insulated door and stinks up your apartment? Those kinds of neighbors?

    Or do you perhaps mean neighbors of the sort who throw the most awesome going away parties EVER on their back patio, with various strands of Christmas lights and lots of alcohol and music? So that the cranky old woman next door has to call the cops at 1:00am to get “those damn kids next door” to shut up? (But let’s be honest, the cop was right: she only called the cops because she wasn’t invited.)

    Exactly which of the above types of stupid neighbors are you referring to?

  5. I’m referring to the stupid neighbors who still turn their surround sound up for their stupid video games EVEN AFTER their upstairs neighbor has politely asked them to turn it down, AND EVEN mentioned that she didn’t want to have to call the cops…

    Maybe I’ll give my management office a call if it happens again. If they refuse to do something, the cops are getting a buzz.

Leave a Reply

