Thoughts?

I just read this blog entry and am wondering what your thoughts are.

Growing up, our Christmas programs at church would try to get the message across that it’s easy to forget the true meaning of Christmas. That we look at the presents and the decorations and such before we look at the real reason the holiday is celebrated. I wonder if the American Family Association has forgotten that Christians celebrate the birth of Christ, not a tree (which, according to Wikipedia, was a Germanic tribe symbol before a Holy Trinity symbol).

What do you think?

I’m not trying to offend anyone, by the way, so please pardon me if that’s what I’ve done.

5 Responses

  1. This whole business is just plain silly. Why? Because none of it, once it was taken from its country of origin, was ever accurate to begin with. So, I will not start a flame war on your blog over petty religious differences, because I’m pretty sure that’s what I’d do. Instead, if you want to know what I really think, send me an email. I’ll respond with a very opinionated novel. 🙂

  2. Every (and by “every” I mean to say “every”) Christian holiday coincides calendar-wise with pre-Christian celebrations, be they Pagan, Greek or otherwise. For example, the concept of Easter is essentially a synthesis of the Greek festival of Dionysus.

    America, being the clusterhood of clusterdom that it is, has managed to swirl a number of traditions together, and then argue about whose holiday deserves to be labeled on the Hallmark calendar.

    “Christmas tree” or “Family tree,” it’s green and leaves needles on the floor and probably makes your mother sneeze.

    Yay for semantics!

  3. That’s absurd. I’m pretty sure that the only people who are buying Christmas trees are probably going to be celebrating Christmas. So why not call them what they are? I’m sure the non-Christmas-celebrating non-Christians won’t begrudge anyone the actual name of their holiday decorations.

    I guess a menorah is now just a festive candelabrum.

  4. How many Jews do you know put up a Family Tree?

    Actually, kind of a lot. I can think of a handful of secular and practicing Jewish families, and plenty more agnostic/atheists who enjoy a little decoration for their winter feast, which is precisely what Christmas is. “Hey, it’s a really dark, depressing time of the agricultural calendar when we have nothing to do but hope that everything we harvested lasts until April and mice don’t eat the grain. Anybody wanna throw a party?”

    The AFA… Ah, yes, the AFA. These dudes enjoy putting focus on superficial issues of every kind, because it means you don’t have to look at the deeper ones. I.E., if you can get mad at Lowe’s for not using the word “Christmas,” you don’t have to examine how you in particular celebrate the holiday, and whether you are truly giving from a Christian spirit or not. So much easier to point the finger! (Which is I suppose what I’m doing, but we won’t talk about that.)

  5. I had previously commented on these comments, but then I remembered that I had asked for thoughts only to see what others thought, not to begin a discussion in my comments (that’s for times when we’re together).

    I will say that my comment on the issue is that Lowe’s should have just called them “Evergreen Trees” and left it at that. Because really, how can you argue with the truth?

    And the AFA needs to figure out its priorities. Don’t they have families to save or something?

Leave a Reply

