NaBloPoMo & some cholera

So today’s the beginning of NaBloPoMo, aka National Blog Posting Month. Cooler participants have little buttons on their sidebars, but WordPress won’t let me just embed one onto the page, and they don’t allow that sort of tomfoolery in their widgets. That’s really the only thing I don’t like about WordPress, the fact that I can’t see the inner workings of my blog. If I could, I’d embed, change, or destroy anything I want. How frightening.

Regardless, today is the first day of the rest of my month-long obsession with posting every day. “Did I post yet? I need to post today, or I won’t win a prize! I must WIN A PRIZE!!!” Yeah, it’s just like that.

So, for the first post, I’ll tell you that I finished Love in the Time of Cholera by Gabriel Garcia Marquez. Yes, it had love. And yes, there was some cholera. But the cholera was used only as a backdrop, to give one a sense of the time that the love was set in. Wait, that’s the title, isn’t it?

The story telling is unique and interesting. I felt like I was listening to someone tell a story they were having to remember as they were going along. As in, they started with one person, then said, “No, I need to tell you about this person now, let’s go farther back in time.” Then a little later, “Wait, now you need to know about this person and what they’ve done.” Normally this would get confusing, but Marquez orchestrates the events with such fluidity that I never felt frustrated or left behind.

As it is a love story, the characters did make me think, “You’re really going to wait outside of her house every day?” or “Seriously, it’s that important that you have to get so angry?” Of course the world we live in today gives rise to those feelings. I mean, this story just wouldn’t happen now. We don’t write letters anymore. We’re not sentimental enough to hold onto things for our entire lives. We can’t be bothered with living our lives for someone or something that isn’t going to reciprocate the dedication and love. (Generalizations, of course.)

The book didn’t leave me with a sense of wanting to live a life like those painted in the story, but that doesn’t bother me much. It’s refreshing to walk away from something appreciating what it had to say, but not necessarily agreeing with it–does that make sense?

I’d recommend it. I’m excited at the thought of reading more Marquez in the near future.

3 Responses

  1. I love the fact that you used the word ‘tomfoolery’ in this post.

  2. Hi! I came over from NaBloPoMo. I’m challenging myself to comment on as many blogs as possible this month.

    I’m sure you’ve already seen this discussion over at the NaBloPoMo site, but just in case… HTMLBadges are Now Here http://nablopomo.ning.com/forum/topic/show?id=997435%3ATopic%3A8379 (in case the hyperlink doesn’t work properly).
    There’s a commentor down there that has some hints for the WordPress site. I know nothing about WordPress, so I can’t help, but just thought I’d pass it along.

    I’ve been wondering about Love in the Time of Cholera. From your description, I might have to give it a go. I usually steer clear of “popular” books as I find them to be over-hyped, but that one had me wondering.

    Thanks!

  3. Becks – I know! Me too!

    Zee – Thanks for stopping by! I’ll check out that widget help. 🙂

Leave a Reply

