Stolen topic

My friend recently wrote about a recurring dream she’s been having, so I thought I’d talk about something that happened to me this morning.

Lately I’ve been somewhat of an insomniac. Well, the problem is that I just can’t seem to go to bed until after 1. And even then something inside me keeps my eyes open. This has been happening most of the week, and this morning it caught up with me. I just couldn’t will myself to get up, no matter how hard I tried. So I laid in bed, awake, but a bit out of it, if you know what I mean. I looked at the clock at some point, and saw it was already 7:10. I told myself “just a few more minutes” and turned my head to face the wall.

Then something odd happened. I’m pretty sure I dozed off, but the next thing I remember happening is that I turned my head to look at the clock again, and couldn’t tell if it was 7:19 or 7:20. I thought “you’ve gotta get up soon,” but then all of a sudden this paralyzing feeling took over my body. Everything went black, and I felt my body being lifted above of the bed and turned around (like, head over feet). This paralyzing sensation used to be a normal occurrence for me (although the lifted feeling was new), so while I was scared out of my mind, I calmly thought to myself, “just wake up. Just wake up and it’ll be over.”

And right after that, I woke up. I turned my head to look at the clock, and saw that it was 7:20. I was fully awake and freaking out a little bit. I almost felt like someone was in the room with me. Of course no one was there, and I successfully pushed the whole thing out of my mind and got ready for work.

Like I said, I’ve had the paralyzing sensation before, in which I can’t move or speak. All I can do is lie there thinking to myself that “I’m ok, everything will be ok in a minute. Just don’t freak out.” It used to terrify me to the point that I’d turn on the light and sit up for a while, but now it’s almost like an old friend. A scary old friend, but something I’m more used to nonetheless.

I had a theory once that maybe my brain is just left behind after my body has gone to sleep, so that my body isn’t responding to my brain’s directions. Almost like I’m in between sleeping and waking. Make sense? Does anyone know why this happens and if I should be worried?

4 Responses

  1. I don’t think this is anything to worry about. You’re probably just overtired and your body wants you to stay asleep once you get there. It’s weird and creepy, but I wouldn’t stress about it.

  2. Go read some Oliver Sacks. That’ll make you feel completely boring and normal.

  3. Hmm…Oliver Sacks. I love it when I learn a new name. 🙂

    Thanks for the comments, ladies!

  4. I think it’s normal. After all, I’m normal, and it happens to me…

    I’ve been an insomniac more than usual lately as well. I’m definitely going to be taking a nap this evening.

Leave a Reply

