Wedding

So I have a a little over 7 1/2 months until the wedding. My first thought is, “Wow, time’s going by faster than I thought it would.” My second thought is “Oh my. This is a life changing event.”

I’m ready for this, being able to see him every day, having a ring to wear, being totally committed. I know that this is by far the most I’ve wanted something in my entire life.

But for a moment after I counted up the months remaining, I had this intense nervous feeling in my stomach. A small part of it has to do with the fact that, yes, after May 24, I will be married. MARRIED.

Most of the nervous energy comes from other things, though. Like: I need to start figuring out exactly what I want to do for Save the Dates. I first thought of magnets, but Marci pointed out that postcards are much cheaper to mail, and I’m sure they’ll be much easier to create. So I need to find some at Office Depot or some such place, and then decide what kind of postcard I want to send. Should it have a picture? If so, should it be of us? Maybe a rose since we’ll be having the wedding at The Antique Rose Emporium? I don’t know about the rose; we’re not the kind of couple to do traditionally romantic types of things. We’ve got our own thing.

Right. And then I need to seriously make a decision about the invitations. Because we’re making our own. Because I’m cheap and don’t think a piece of paper is worth tons of money, no matter how pretty it is. Also because I’m not paying for this wedding thing, so getting an expensive pretty piece of paper is pretty much out of the question.

And before these two things are done, we need to finalize the guest list. GULP. It’s not a nightmare by any means; just stressful. And I hoping I’ll be able to invite everyone I want to, but it just doesn’t look like that’s going to be the case. There’s simply not enough room.

Wow. I didn’t think I’d type that much about the wedding planning (that’s why I haven’t talked about it here yet), but I guess I was wrong. You’ll probably see one of these posts every month. Probably more as the date nears. I’ll always title it appropriately so you can avoid it if you’d like. That’s my wedding gift to you.

3 Responses

  1. I can’t believe you haven’t called me.

    *sobbing that all her wedding planning experience will never turn into something useful

    Handwrite those invitations. Get nice, reasonable paper from More Than Paper. Vellum. Bows. No bows. But a vellum overlay for your nice, reasonable paper. Send cute notes as your invitation to make people feel like individuals, not anonymous gift-buyers.

    When you invite people, you have to feed them. Do not invite people to whom you have no desire to give a free meal. Small weddings are beautiful, too. Pare your guest list to the minimum.

    Open that bar.

    Love you. Call me.

  2. Fringes – I’m glad someone commented. I was worried I’d scared everyone off.

    I don’t know how good my handwriting is. How’s yours?

    I don’t know if the vellum is going to make the final cut, but it’s still in the running. I am thinking seriously about a ribbon being inserted somewhere.

    We’re planning on having two kegs (well, we’re from Texas, after all) and some champagne for non-beer drinkers and for the toasts. Thought about wine too, but that’s gonna be expensive.

    Oh! I just love talking about wedding stuff. It’s stressful, but awesome. 🙂

  3. My handwriting is a writer’s handwriting. Flowing and quirky. I’m sure yours is fine.

    I understand about the vellum.

    I am here at anytime, available to talk wedding stuff. You know where I live.

Leave a Reply

