Yes, I look young, thank you

I’m 25. Yes, I know I look 18. No, I’m not happy to hear that. Yes, I know I’ll be happy when I’m 30 or 40 and I look like I’m in my 20s. Yes, I know I should be thankful. Here’s the rub, though. People who don’t know me treat me like I’m 18. And if you’re 25 you don’t want to be treated like you’re 18 anymore. Because you’ve already gone through that phase of your life. And you want the teeny bit of respect that being an adult should give a person.

I know I’ve written about this before, and I know I should be getting over it by now, but it still gets under my skin and makes me so angry I could spit (don’t you just love that phrase, by the way?). I don’t care if you think I should be happy to look young. Do you care if I think you should keep your opinions to yourself? Probably not, huh?

I’ve been getting this more lately. I think it might be the longer hair. I’d like to get it cut again; one last hurrah before I grow it out for the wedding. Sadly, though, I don’t think I can afford that right now. I don’t necessarily want to cake on the makeup in the hopes that I’ll look older. I think I’ll just look like a tart. Or like I’m trying too hard.

I think I should start a support group for people who look young and aren’t necessarily happy about it right now but might be happy about it later. Any takers?

10 Responses

  1. You forgot “when you’re older, you’ll find it flattering to be carded”

    um, no, but you will have to rummage around in your wallet – what fun!

  2. Alas, no, I’m not in this group, so I can’t commiserate. But (and I’m risking all of fortune crashing down on me like a load of bricks by saying this out loud) Austin seems to have chased away the three gray hairs that Cincinnati gave me. They’ve been absent, or at least hiding, for a while now.

    That could also be the youthful happiness of having the best boyfriend in the entire world (them’s fightin’ words!)… but I think this town is also a relatively happier, more youthful place.

  3. Ah yes, I left grad school soon after I got my first gray hair… and haven’t seen one since.

  4. Your gray hairs went away?? As someone who’s had gray hairs since 10th grade, I hate you both.

  5. quit whining you old fart

  6. I feel ‘lucky’ if I’m guessed at the age of 18…..and no, not because of why you think. I still get questioned for the age of 12 or 14 max, which is frustrating, to say the least. I’m just under 5 foot, so at first glance, I can easily be mistaken for a child, despite obvious boobs, makeup, and adult dress….but even after someone realizes I’m well into my adult years, it seems hard for them to treat me that way. Sure, I’ll love it when I’m older, I guess, but for now, it’d be nice to get a little respect instead of “are you ‘sure’ you’re that old? you don’t look it.” Yes. I’m sure. ><

  7. Jessi – I sooooo feel your pain.

  8. And thanks for stopping by!

  9. i know exactly how you feel. im 25 and get asked for id and it really winds me up when they let people in who you know are just 18/19 and dont batter an eyelid! its so demoralising and not to mention embarrasing. The way some people talk to me or look at me like to say ‘bloody teenager’ i feel like laying them out. id love to set up a support group bring it on!

  10. Phil – Yes! Let’s get that support group going! Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

