Thoughts I’ve lately been having

-Every weekday, I get an email from The Knot. It doesn’t matter if the emails are the same from day to day; they really feel a need to tell you several times a week that they’ve got SALES! Lots and lots of SALES! A part of me doesn’t mind this, though. Of course I like getting email that reminds me that I’m getting married (that’s the girly girl in me), and even though I see mostly the same merchandise over and over again, I do enjoy looking at the little things that I should keep in mind. I also occasionally follow the link to the website and spend some time (a few hours) looking at “real weddings.” Those are the best. Oh man, what am I going to do when I’m hitched and I don’t have to look at these things anymore?

-The HEB near my new place is nice, but I find myself missing the old HEB by UT. The old HEB is busy all the time, as there are millions and millions of students descending on it at all hours. Of course I’m exaggerating. A tiny bit. Anyway, even though it was always crowded, there was some comfort in knowing exactly where everything was. My trip to the grocery store was greatly shortened by the second month of living in the area because I had learned the store and grown to almost like it, regardless of the millions and millions of seemingly mindless human beings crowding the aisles. (I don’t really mind students that much…maybe) This new HEB is unfamiliar to me, and I feel like only a temporary visitor. I don’t get the sense that I’ll grow to know and love this store as much as I did the last one. I guess I just need to keep going and hope for the best.

-The salads at Quiznos are wonderful. Especially the bread you get with them. My new addiction, I think.

-I keep thinking about getting a new job, but what would be the point of that? I’d have to find something that pays as much as my current job does, has good benefits, and doesn’t involve an office of any kind. I’m tired of working in offices, at least the offices where I either don’t have enough work or don’t have the right kind of people around. I’m not qualified for much else though; not anything that would pay as well as an office job.

-I like working out right now. Joining the gym was a good idea. Will I feel this way for very long?

« »

4 Responses

  1. The new HEB is pretty neat, actually. The kosher deli is cool, and just wait till you meet Dennis at the fish counter. I can’t understand a flippin’ thing he says. (And I’m not altogether convinced that his name is really Dennis.)

    Would you like to join me sometime for Indian buffet on Far West? It’s not kind to diets, so we can go for a brisk, smart walk beforehand. I have a 2-for-1 coupon and a fellah who doesn’t like Indian.

  2. Even if you got a new office job at the university, it could still be better, because you’d learn new stuff, and meet new people. Maybe you just need a change.

  3. You can work for me! 🙂

    And I totally understand about the store. I still feel that way after 7 months in the house, since I really don’t like either HEB close to me, and I haven’t figured them out yet since I go to both, and sometimes even to my old one even though it’s a ways down the road.

  4. Eliz – Yes!

    Becks – I think I do need a change. But I tend to go with those feelings rather than wait things out, so I guess I’ll stay here a little longer and see how I feel at the 2 year mark. Maybe.

    Marci – I’d love to work for you!

Leave a Reply

