Confession

Sorry if this post doesn’t flow well. It’s one of those days.

This is difficult. I’ve only told a few people about this so far, and I feel that it’s best to just come out with these sorts of things. Just be honest. That’s the best policy, right? Yeah. So here goes.

I’ve begun watching WE. That’s right, Women’s Entertainment. Specifically Bridezillas and (gulp) American Princess. I don’t know what’s happened; maybe it’s because I’m engaged and am hungry for anything info that pertains to weddings. That doesn’t explain American Princess. Nothing explains that.

I used to be one of those women that swore off ANYTHING on Lifetime or WE or whatever other channels are geared towards women. Even if, say, Sleepless in Seattle, a movie I adore, was on one of those channels, I’d probably find something else to watch. Like ESPN. Yeah, I’m usually that girl.

I’d heard about Bridezillas from some friends, and always thought it sounded like a funny show, but the dilemma was that it was on WE. So I never tried to catch it and see what it was all about. Then one day recently we came across it–and the rest, as they say, is history. I was hooked. Even Jared didn’t mind watching it too much.

You might think that there’s no big deal with watching the channel for a couple of shows. And I think I could live with that if that was the truth. Except…well…I watch it almost every day now. As in, I check to see what’s on when I get home from work. I used to check the big three (Comedy Central, FSN, Discovery) then probably settle on Comedy Central, especially if it was almost time for Daily Show. But then Discovery had Shark Week, and I lost interest. Comedy Central is inexplicably in love with Carlos Mencia (who steals his jokes, by the way, worthless idiot). And my Astros aren’t doing too hot, so FSN is usually more depressing than entertaining these days. So the big three don’t always grab my attention anymore.

And who’s gonna be there to pick me up? I’ll tell ya who! Crazy women getting married! Crazy women wanting to be an American Princess! And then some more crazy women getting married!

At this point, I won’t swear off WE once the big three come back. I’ve realized that I can watch that channel and not feel like a crazy lady. It just makes me a more rounded person, right? Maybe I just won’t watch it for hours on end after work anymore…

2 Responses

  1. I’m ashamed to be seen with you in public. I’m not sure we can be friends anymore.

  2. Ha ha!

    It is funny how the guys don’t wuite mind that show. Platinum weddings and the others, yes. But Bridezillas, that’s almost tolerable.

    And Kim, I watch Bridezillas, but also Law & Order, So that makes me half-okay, yeah?

Leave a Reply

