3002!!!

Craig Biggio has reached 3000 hits!!! And added 2 more!!!

I can’t tell you how much I love this game, this team, this player right now. Biggio ended up going 5 for 6 tonight, which in itself is impressive for a 41 year old player (any player, really). I doubt many outside of Houston really cared that much, and I have no idea (but doubt seriously) if ESPN cut into their programming to show the extended standing ovation that Biggio got from the crowd and from his teammates.

The best thing about this is that Biggio’s family was there. His boys were in the dugout with him, his wife and daughter were in the front row. And he couldn’t stop hugging and kissing his family during the celebration for him. How many other athletes these days have the kind of values this guy has? He even pulled Jeff Bagwell out of the dugout so that the fans could see him on the field again. During his big moment, he wanted his friend to get some applause too.

Oh yeah, AND the Astros actually won tonight, with a walk-off grand slam by Carlos Lee. This team might not be having a great year, but they’re giving us some magical moments.

I don’t care how many people make fun of me for this; I’ll always be an Astros fan. And I’ll always remember Bagwell and Biggio. I grew up watching these guys, and I couldn’t be happier for Bigg right now.

2 Responses

  1. As soon as I saw this on the news, my first thought was “I know what Caroline will have on her blog today!” Enjoy!

  2. 🙂 That makes me proud!

Leave a Reply

