All alone

I’m all alone in the office right now. One co-worker is in a meeting, one is on vacation, and one is interviewing applicants for a new position. It’s so quiet in here, even though I just tuned in to a radio station via the web. By the by, I don’t think I like the band Parts & Labor. Or maybe I just don’t like them right now, because I really don’t want to be listening to them while at work. Basically, I don’t want to be at work.

Our office houses four people, two workstations for graduate students/work studys, faculty and phd mailboxes, a sparkletts water bottle (yeah, I’m the only one who changes that–thanks for teaching me how, former job!) and a copy room. During the summer there is little traffic here, and even with all workers present it can get a bit quiet and lonely. Being the only one here at the moment, it’s almost unbearable.

I’ve already burned myself out a bit on the wedding planning. Or maybe I haven’t–maybe it’s just that one of the big things is probably already taken care of, which eliminates a lot of searching. And maybe it’s that some things I can’t do from here, like interview photographers. Especially when one of them has an office in a town that’s 2 hours away.

Oh thank goodness. The radio station just started playing The Arcade Fire. The morning’s looking up.

3 Responses

  1. I know how you feel. I’m the only one around here a lot lately and the buzz of the fluorescent lights gets aggravating. Glad you have a nice radio station to listen to instead of the incessant gum smacking of the professor whose office is next to yours. 😉

  2. Very true. 😉

    I know what you mean about the buzz. The unending buzz…

  3. The scariest thing about that buzz is the uncanny resemblance it has to the sound of the void in the heads of some people I once worked with…I’m sure you can relate.

Leave a Reply

