The News

By now most of you readers know this (or have figured it out), but I’ve finally informed the family and can now inform the blogging world that…

I’m engaged!!

It happened two weekends ago during the big beach house vacation. It wasn’t planned, but it turned out better than any planned proposal. I won’t bore you with the details. I’ll just tell you that at first I didn’t believe I was actually hearing those words, and I distinctly remember saying, “Is that a real question?”

Right now we’re looking at next year, anywhere in the neighborhood of May-July. Originally it was August, but since I want an outdoor evening wedding and don’t want to kill my guests and wedding party with the heat, I thought I should move it up to May. Then it became apparent that most weddings have already booked places for May (and even June), so we’re including June and July.

And we’re off with the planning. Or I guess I should say that I’m off with the planning. Jared has given me a few opinions so far, but as of now I’m doing most of the searching. Which, truly, is probably best, since I’m the typical girl who’s been pre-planning for years now. I never anticipated that it’d be this difficult though. Finding a venue for the ceremony and reception, finding a dress, finding flowers, cakes, a photographer, shoes, alcohol, food, parking spaces…this isn’t going to be a walk in the park. But so far it’s been a lesson in patience, diligence, and bargain shopping. Luckily I’m surrounded by a great group of people who will be able to help me cut costs by sharing their talents.

I’m looking forward to this. I’m looking forward to having fun with my friends and family, and I’m most of all looking forward to finally being able to wake up with Jared every day. Because let me tell you, the hardest part of starting a new week is leaving him for another city.

8 Responses

  1. Congratulations! Being married is a great thing! I heartily recommend it!

  2. Thanks Judy!! 🙂

  3. Neat. Y’all are both cool people.

    Oh, and invite me. 🙂

  4. Congratulations, Caroline.

    And good luck with the planning.

    My wife and I got so tired of it we eventually eloped to Vegas. We got everybody together afterwards for a Vegas-themed reception, though, which was lots o’ fun. And way easier to plan than a wedding.

    Not that I’m trying to give you any alternatives here.

  5. Elizabeth – Done. 😉

    Chad – Thanks. Believe it or not, my dad keeps joking (with a serious tone…) that we should just elope. I think in the end though he’d probably miss the whole giving his daughter away, but the price is always enticing.

  6. Whatever you do, don’t let the caterer talk you into fondant icing for your wedding cake. Beautiful but inedible. Plain old buttercream or anything else will do nicely.

    No more unsolicited advice from me. I’m simply reading from here on out.

    I’m so excited…

  7. Fringes – I’ve actually read that as well, about the fondant. I’m not even sure we’ll be going with a traditional wedding cake–we’ll have to see. Thanks for your advice. I welcome it, even if I don’t listen to it. 😉

  8. Cupcakes yummy.

Leave a Reply

