Am I buff yet?

Tuesday, I helped the boyfriend move. I had a burst of energy that day that came from (surely) the depths of my soul. And it just won’t go away.

Case in point, yesterday my roommates and I FINALLY finished up all the yard work that needed doing. To prepare for this momentous occasion, I searched around the interwebs of Austin a bit, looking for a lawnmower to rent. I kept finding gas powered mowers that rented for a minimum of $15 a day.

Then I came across the website for Eco-Wise, a store that will probably make me more of an Austin loony in my dad’s eyes (running joke). I found out that I could rent this

Push Mower

for $10 a day. So I did. And I’m here to tell you that you haven’t lived until you’ve used a real push mower. Powered by nothing but gumption and elbow grease.

There are a few drawbacks: sticks are a death sentence, and I spent lots of time bending down to either move them out of the way or get them out of the blades; weeds do not succumb easily, and we had to develop a special technique in order to get them cut; it hates even a little bit of mud. But in the end, we didn’t use a stinky gas mower and we didn’t have to plug in an electric one. So all in all, this was a good rental.

I complemented the yard work with this, my baby:

Grass Hog

We got this electric trimmer and edger last year, and it’s been awesome. I’m not much of an edger, and it hurts my arms a lot since I have absolutely no muscles to speak of. But it always gets the job done, and it doesn’t complain when I accidentally try to trim the fence or the sidewalk. It’s safe to say that I have a bit of a crush on this thing.

I really had fun doing all of this stuff yesterday. I am just not made for an office.

3 Responses

  1. I am not made for an office either, even though I love my faculty here and they do nice things for me, like take me for rides in their corvettes. Maybe we should go into business together. I’m not above yard work…and it would build both my muscles and yours, and then we’d be sexy, sweaty, buff working women who know how to operate power tools and stuff. Ok, I’ll stop now.

  2. I think you’ve hit upon a wonderful idea. I got a little excited at the thought of being outside working in a yard. During the winter, when business is slow, you can write your novel and I can, well, I can hand you paper when you need it.

  3. I’m waiting for a bag of money to fall from the sky. I’ve tired of working.

Leave a Reply

