In which I act like an immature kid

The person who used to have my job is now back in the building. Said person is nice and all, but I’ve always felt that when my current co-workers speak of this person, they are just so sad that this person isn’t around anymore. Granted, this person was here for several years, and this person went through lots of life changes while they were here. That leads to a certain closeness with co-workers, so I understand that they miss having this person around.

But for me, who has taken on the job that this person chose to leave, it can become uncomfortable when this person is around. I realize I’m being a bit irrational, but I just feel like I’m playing second fiddle when this person is around. No one’s ever said that I’m doing a bad job here or that the other person did the job much better than I did. It’s hard, though, not to make that up in my head when everyone here (staff AND faculty) want to make sure they see this person and say hello and exchange hugs and tell stories and so on and so on.

I got an excellent review and am getting a raise in September, so I shouldn’t have this fear of my superiors not liking me in this role. But when the “golden child” returns, it’s hard to remember that I’m bound to be doing as good a job as this person was doing. I mean, come on. It’s a state job. A monkey can do these jobs.

Someone tell me (nicely) to grow up already.

6 Responses

  1. grow up already, dammit!

  2. Thanks, Casey. I can always count on you to yell at me when I ask for it.

  3. For my full, detailed response, please refer to Casey’s comment above. Thank you. Have a nice day.

    PS: I was tempted to hurl expletives at you, but as you’re not a stinky whore and I don’t feel it’s entirely appropriate, I have decided to refrain.

  4. Ouch! But then again, reminds me of that late August when the new summer worker was feeling that very same thing when everyone was going, “Caroline’s coming back! Caroline’s coming next week!!!” They were going, “who is this Caroline and why is everyone so excited!” Guess it just shows there’s room for lots of exeptional people in our lives. πŸ™‚

  5. I felt exactly that same way at my last full-time job. I got the impression that my predecessor was far more beloved than I. For starters, she seemed sweet, non-argumentative, and not a boat-rocker at all. So, my polar opposite. I felt really grumpy about her, especially when she came to visit wearing Laura Ashley on the morning after I’d been at a theater tech, so I was wearing cargo pants and Birks and no makeup.

    Then, finally, somebody was honest. I was talking about how much more people seemed to like this gal than they liked me. He finally said, “Yeah, she was nice, but really? She didn’t know her *** from a hole in the ground.”

    Then I felt better. Sue me.

  6. JSS – Yeah, I’ve thought about that before, which has, admittedly, made me feel better a number of times. πŸ™‚

    Elizabeth – That’s another thing–this person’s spouse makes a lot of money and this person is able to dress well. I, on the other hand, am happy to afford Old Navy.

    But you’re right, things aren’t always what they seem. I’m glad someone was honest enough to tell you that.

Leave a Reply

