The power of Google

So, I Google searched “knitted” to see if, you know, the word existed. Maybe I should back up for a second. A friend just knitted me a pair of fingerless gloves (which I LOVE, by the way) and she gave them to me last night at the Express game. I put them in my purse and forgot to take them out last night. So as I was sitting at work digging for my Ibuprofen, I pulled them out and decided to try them on. My boss walked by and noticed them, asking if that was something I knit. I immediately said, “Oh no, a friend of mine knitted them for me and I’m trying them on.”

Immediately after that I thought, “Is knitted even a word?” So I did what any self-respecting internet user would do. I went to Google and searched “knitted.” I found out that it is, indeed, a word, and that some crazy person abroad decided to have a Knitted Wedding. There are pictures at the bottom of the page.

I’m not sure what I think about this, so I’m sharing it with you in the hopes that you will have some great reactions. Go!

7 Responses

  1. The link to the Knitted Wedding doesn’t work.

    But I think I would use the word “knit” rather than “knitted.” I wonder if that’s also correct. Well, it’s back to my brain (otherwise known as google) to find out.

  2. Thanks Marci. It should work now. Don’t know what happened there.

    I thought that too, about saying “knit.” It sounds better. And to be truthful, I didn’t dictionary.com search it, so I might be wrong in saying that knitted is a word.

  3. Ever seen a knitted uterus? Check this one out at knitty.com/ISSUEwinter04/PATTwomb.html

  4. I’m so glad to hear you like the gloves! (1) I think “knitted” works better as an active past-tense verb rather than an adjective. However, the dictionary (yes, the actual book on my shelf) tells me that either will do. (2) Definitely do that thing where you soak them briefly in water with a little salt. They’re not supposed to have excess dye, but they do, and I’d hate to turn your clothes navy blue! (3) The Knitted Wedding would be kind of tacky. Sometimes, you just need woven textiles, too. 🙂

  5. I agree with Elizabeth’s #1, although, by now, you have made up your mind and this is likely no longer an issue.

    How was the game?

  6. Fringes – The game was awesome!! Our ‘Stros won 10-4, and the weather was perfect. Thanks for asking!

    I also agree with Elizabeth’s #1.

  7. JSS – I think you showed me that knitted uterus one time! 🙂

    Unbelievable.

Leave a Reply

