This is me, making a movie

You may remember that I’m taking a class called i312 – Information in Cyberspace. Here’s the website I created for it. I’ve even got pictures hidden away (follow Module 5 link).

Well, I am now trying to finish up my final project for this class. The final module was a “Choose Your Own Adventure” module (yeah, they called it that). We could choose from four different modules, each one having different purposes and assignments. I chose the Preservation Reformatting module, because damnit, I wanted to know how to make a DVD.

I ended up using my family’s sole Home Videos VHS tape (we taped other things, but this is the original, the best). Spending lots of hours in the Information Technology (IT) lab, where I am right now, by the way, I imported the VHS tape into iMovie. That ended up taking close to three hours, and the really unfortunate thing is that I can’t use all of it for the assignment. Oh well.

I came back the next night (yesterday) to edit and burn. That sounds much easier than it ended up being. I won’t bore you with a lot of details, but I will say that I now know how to add transitions and chapters to a DVD project. Whoo!

After that was done, I created the project in iDVD. Once there, I was able to customize my menus, adding still pictures from the movie onto each menu. (It’s a bit of a tear jerker) When ready, I burned the DVD; after it was done, I printed a label on it.

Here’s where the story gets a little sad. Another girl was printeing her label as well, and since the DVD label printer hates students, it ended up printing her label on my DVD. UGH. This was around 9:55 last night, and the lab closes at 10. They printed the correct label on a new DVD, and I decided to come back today and re-burn it.

It actually turned out to be a good thing that that happened, because my DVD had a few problems. I fixed them this morning, and now it SHOULD be as good as gold. We’ll see. It’s burning as I write. Keep your fingers crossed for me.

ADDITION: There’s something about watching yourself as a 2 1/2 year old that makes you want to do more with your life. More than answering phones and making copies. Maybe I should watch this video every month to remind me of that.

Leave a Reply

