“Is this how we dress for the office? You look like a blood clot!”

I did it. I finally became a working woman. How, you ask?

I walked to work with my tennis shoes on. And changed into more appropriate “work shoes” when I got to the office. Yeah, I’ve turned into an 80s movie. Preferably Big Business. Anyone else see this movie? Wonderful.

I’ve been fighting this for a long time. I didn’t want to admit that I wasn’t savvy enough to find work shoes that were both fashionable AND comfortable for a 20 minute walk to work. 20 minutes doesn’t sound like a long time, but I promise you that when your shoes aren’t comfortable, it feels like 20 hours. I’ve had bloody heels from some shoes, the bastards.

A while ago, I found a pair of Payless shoes that, once I broke them in for a week with constant walking and Band-aids, have become my mainstay work shoes. They’re comfortable enough to walk to work in, yet office-y enough to help me feel like I’m not dressing down too much. However, since they’re Payless shoes, they’re falling apart. There are cracks in the soles, holes through which rain can enter the shoe, and threads starting to unravel. Every day I look at them and wonder how much longer I can put them through the misery of taking me to work. Occasionally I wear other shoes, but these really are my workhorses.

Instead of finding another (probably expensive) pair of shoes, I’ve decided that for the time being I will become that woman who wears her tennis shoes to work. Well, I won’t wear tennis shoes with skirts, because I just don’t do that. I’ve got flip flops for that. Please, women, stop wearing tennis shoes with skirts. It’s…funny. I’m talking about aerobic tennis shoes, not the stylish shoes (like Pumas). Those are ok. Clunky tennis shoes with skirts is like wearing socks with sandals. Wrong on all levels. Just…stop.

But I digress. If anyone knows of a good place to get reasonably priced shoes that are comfortable AND work appropriate, please let me know. I’m tired of not having other shoe options, and I’m not a very good shoe shopper. So any help offered is appreciated.

4 Responses

  1. 1. One time, during a summer job in college, I got like ten big plantar’s warts on the bottoms of my feet. (I know you want to keep reading.) It hurt so bad I had to do the tennis-shoes-with-work-clothes thing, and the other girls in the office nearly slayed me for nerdiness.

    2. Check out Kenneth Cole Reaction at DSW. Unless anyone reading this is a size 10, in which case you should stay very far away and leave them all to me.

  2. Elizabeth – If it’s a medical condition, one can be forgiven. I probably would have razzed you a bit though. 🙂

    I was thinking of heading over to DSW soon, but was wary of going since I have a hard time finding things. Thanks to your tip, I’ll now have a goal in mind. Whoo!!

  3. I used to work in an office here in London that was about a 30 min walk away as well and my feet would kill once I got there. I have a great pair of aerosoles… now I know what you are thinking they are for old women right? No! They have really updated their lines and you can get some really nice basics from ballet flats to heels. Also I would HIGHLY reccomend Clarks, they are a bit more expensive but they will lasst forever and are super comfy after you break them in. I have a pair of suede boots that I got in Seilla on sale in 2000 and they hardly look worn at all. Good luck!

  4. Kaker – That’s a good tip; I’ll definitely look into aerosoles more than I have before. I think I looked at Clarks a long time ago, but the price probably turned me off. However, if they’ll last forever and I fall in love with them, money is no object. Sort of.

    Thanks for the good luck wish! 🙂

Leave a Reply

