A note on respect

I have a friend (her temporary blog can be found here while her permanent blog is down) who is, in many ways, the opposite of me. She’s naturally skinnier than me (you are!), is a bit more conservative in her politics, and has a very strong belief in God. It’s more than very strong, but I’m not sure how else to put it–working on little sleep right now.

She read my previous post and we had an itty bitty discussion on the topic. She wants to better understand where I’m coming from, and wants to have a dialogue about it. I don’t feel that I fully understand her side, so I think it would be a good thing for me to discuss this with her as well.

To be honest, I was a bit nervous about what she and another friend of mine would think about my previous post. But I shouldn’t be. Aforementioned friend has expressed herself to me without attacking, and I reciprocated with not trying to attack her.

Basically, our respect for each other runs quite deep. Deep enough for us to know that we need to respect each other’s differing opinions, even if we might end up thinking the other person will never understand ours. Who knows? We may not. We may come to understand, yet still disagree. In any case, I’m quite certain that we will remain friends throughout, because we have respect for each other.

Now imagine if we all respected everyone else. What kind of world would this be? A good one, right? We should all work on that…

Leave a Reply

