On looking young

I’ve always looked younger than I am. Well, I guess that doesn’t really apply to someone who’s 5, but in junior high and high school I started hearing that I looked young. When I was around 16 or 17, I was told I looked 12. I don’t remember who said it or why they did it, but I remember thinking about how horrible it was that I looked 12.

People still tell me that I look young, and are surprised to hear that I’m almost 25. Apparently the receptionist at my eye doctor told my mom that I “still look so young.” When I asked my mom how young I looked, she said something like, “I don’t know, 18? 19?” Ugh. Now I look like some silly high school graduate. I guess it’s better than a middle schooler though.

I should digress here and say that I have nothing against people who are 12 or 18. I’ve just been through that time already and I’d like to move on to my 20s. I don’t act 18 or even 20. I’m fairly certain I act my age. Unless the Astros are winning or Deadliest Catch is on. Then I’m a kid again.

Anyway, everyone tells me that one day I’ll be happy about this. Maybe when I’m 40 and I look 30. Sure, I can see that. But at this point, I absolutely HATE being told I look young. Because then I automatically get treated as if I am, in fact, young. People assume I’m still in college and don’t yet have common sense, when in fact I graduated two whole years ago (well, two years ago in May) and have more common sense than a lot of my elders I work with. People assume my ID is fake. No, I’ve actually been through almost 25 years of life, and I’ve been through enough shit to not have to take yours.

Whew! I should take a step back and regroup. This is a subject that really bothers me, and I know I shouldn’t let it. I know that one day I will enjoy looking younger than I am. I know that this obstacle actually allows me to catch people off guard, since I’m a lot smarter and more mature than they initially assume I am. (That previous paragraph doesn’t really show it, but whatever.)

But I gotta tell ya, I’m tired of hearing about how young I look. I know. I’ve heard it for a long time now. So please just admire/envy/feel whatever emotion you’re feeling quietly.

Anyone else have this problem?

6 Responses

  1. A few times at college band parties I would get asked if I was from Clarke Central H.S. At the time I was 21 and people thought I was 17. Then I got carded FOREVER after I was 21. Now at 37 people tell me I don’t look that old, which is nice since I’m single and still on the market!! But even in my mid-late 30’s I’d like the respect of being that age instead of people thinking I’m younger. So I think wanting people to recognize you as your actual age goes for no matter how old you are. However I don’t think I’d trade it for the youthful appearance!

  2. Bess – See, that’s what I need to hear. That I should be thankful in the long run. I’m glad you understand!

    Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Hey daughter,
    Just thought of something. The younger you look the younger people will think I am. Right??? OK — maybe not — it was a good thought though.

  4. I got carded until I was 35. I’d argue with the stupid liquor store person, I’d be irritated with the stupid liquor store person. Then I stopped getting carded. It’s been three, four years now. I’m depressed. Am I screaming old hag, people?

  5. Mom – I love you, and you’re right. How could I have missed that??

    Fringes – After all of my ranting, it will be a sad day when I don’t get carded, I’m sure.

  6. (coming in late, just found you)

    I am 34 and still get told I look 22. I don’t like it but I don’t hate it as much as I used to. Don’t get carded as much as I used to but I’m not really sad about that either. 🙂

Leave a Reply

